Rocketry Chat Forum

RocketryChat Logo & Icon Yellow TRans BG 1200 x700

Forum

Hybrid Motors - Why...

Notifications
Clear all

Hybrid Motors - Why don't more people don't trust them?

Page 1 / 2

LenForsyth
(@lenforsyth)
Member Admin Club Member
Topic starter  

(Maybe I am a "rocket-tragic", but if you really want to feel like you were there, then I think that such clips should be played at full screen and at total volume)

https://rocketrychat.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/UglyHybridtest7.mp4

😀 😀 😀 

Some things just never seem to get old.

LenForsyth
(@lenforsyth)
Member Admin Club Member
Topic starter  

https://rocketrychat.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/1000nhybrid.mp4

(Sometime later in South Australia)

ReplyQuote
AnthonyCaracella
(@anthonycaracella)
Active Member RSO&LCO

Bit of a hybrid newbie here, but with the costs and difficulties in maintaining ready-to-go supply of DG1.3 and DG1.4 imports, is there a space for hybrids to make a bit of a resurgence?

I've had a quick look over the Contrail Rockets system, and some of it seems quite straight forward, but I have a range of queries I can think of asking, and wonder how much else I'm missing.  Is NOS loading only done at the launch pad once in launch configuration? Are additional/non-solid-compatable radio launch control systems needed? It seemed that a specific igniter was needed as well.

Just wondering if there is much experience locally with hybrids, or if anyone else might have some appetite for investigating and importing what we would need to make this happen.

ReplyQuote
AnthonyCaracella
(@anthonycaracella)
Active Member RSO&LCO

https://rocketindustries.com.au/nos14251-refill-pump-station-incl-stan

Like, is something like this necessary for on site GSE?

ReplyQuote
LenForsyth
(@lenforsyth)
Member Admin Club Member
Topic starter